How to be healthy, happy, and stress-free:

Set goals.  Why do so many large corporations and companies set goals and focus on their vision for the future?  Because it works!  Knowing where you’re going–either up the ladder or in day to day life–is so important in personal fulfillment.

For my job, I had the opportunity to meet a couple who practices taekwondo.  In June, they both earned world championship titles.  Doesn’t sound all that groundbreaking or out of the ordinary, but these two special people are in their 60s! 

Both of them made it clear that they would not have won world titles without a bigger vision:  “Without a goal, you’re subject to all of the external influences that come and go.  When you look in the mirror and ask yourself ‘what kind of person am I?’ you say, ‘okay this is what I want.  This is my goal, this is my wish.’  Then every moment after that you have to kind of ask yourself, ‘is this, what I’m doing right now, in conformity with that goal?’  You have to listen to your conscience and your conscience will tell you.  You have to go in there knowing that you have done everything that you possibly could toward that goal.  And then it doesn’t matter if you win because you have won already. But if you don’t do that then you have lost already, even if you win.”

A couple of weeks ago I signed up for a half-marathon in December, and I can’t wait to start training.  I’m used to running only 2 to 3 miles at a time, so 13.1 seems a little daunting.  But I’m excited to try and I know I will be a better person for it.

Brothers, I do not consider that I have made it my own. But one thing I do: forgetting what lies behind and straining forward to what lies ahead, I press on toward the goal for the prize of the upward call of God in Christ Jesus (Philippians 3:13-14)

 

 

Leave a comment