DIY: $1 Valentine’s Day Frame Wreath

I’ve had this old picture frame stuck in the top of my closet for a while ever since the back came unglued and I never put it back together. So with V-day just around the corner, I thought it would make into a nice frame wreath!

First, I started by wrapping the frame with twine.

image (5)

I would wrap several strands around the frame, adding a dot of hot glue here and there to hold the twine in place. Eventually, I wound up with this (below) and had no twine left to cover the corners. Sad, sad day. So, I improvised. (You may have noticed that the bottom left is naked on more than just the corner. I’ll explain how I rigged that in just a minute)

image (3)

I had a cute, old, summery, doily-looking overshirt that got ruined in the washing machine, (one of the shoulders got stretched severely, making me look uneven) but the fabric was so cute I knew I’d eventually have a purpose for it. I started trimming away and wrapped the corners with it.

image (4)

Now it’s time to rig that empty space next to the bottom left corner with my favorite handmade flowers! Take a piece of felt and cut a circle. I used a roll of ribbon for my circle pattern because, let’s be honest, who can cut a good circle freehanded? Take the circle and cut into it, about a centimeter from the edge. Keep cutting around the perimeter until you get to the center and there’s nothing left to cut. You’ll end up with a spiral-like strand of felt. Now take the center of it (the last part your scissors touched) and start rolling it back up, letting the edges overlap each other slightly. Add some glue along the way to keep your flower together.

image (2)

You’ll end up with something like this.

image (1)

I made three, each a different size, and stuck a pearl in the middle. I arranged them to cover up my empty space. I also stuck in some greenery from a fake plant I had in the house. You can also cut leaves out of felt, ribbon or other fabric you have on hand.

Now it’s time for the centerpiece! I bought these babies in the dollar spot at Target for–you guessed it–$1. That is literally what I spent on this entire wreath–$1! I realize you may not have all of these things already in your house, but hopefully my wreath will inspire you to get creative with what you’ve got!

photo

I cut the strap off my old shirt for a single, thin ribbon to run horizontally across the middle of the frame. Using hot glue, I attached either side of it to the back of the frame, then slapped a red, glittery, foam heart on to the front of it.

And bam! Festive wreath.

image

I’m thinking I’ll add ribbon to the top so that the “B” on my door doesn’t interrupt my wreath feng shui. If you feel like gettin’ crafty and wind up making your own, please share it!

3 thoughts on “DIY: $1 Valentine’s Day Frame Wreath

Leave a Reply

